Reed out to retain The Northern Trust title

Image copyright: Getty Images

2020 The Northern Trust

US PGA Tour 

TPC Boston 
Norton, Massachusetts, USA 
20-23 August 2020
The 2020 The Northern Trust will be hosted by TPC Boston in Norton, Massachusetts, USA between 20 and 23 August.
The tournament was formerly known as The Barclays and the PGA Tour competition rotates between the New York City area and Boston area in the USA.
Since 2007, it has been played as the first tournament of the playoff system for the FedEx Cup and the field is limited to the top 125 players on the FedEx points list for the regular season.
American golfer Patrick Reed is the defending champion having won The Northern Trust title last year.
Abraham Ancer
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Reed won the tournament for the second time by one over Mexican golfer Abraham Ancer at the Liberty National Golf Club near New York City.
After an up-and-down opening nine Sunday that featured three birdies and three bogeys, Reed birdied two of his final five holes for 69 and the victory.
The 30-year-old joined Jack Nicklaus, Seve Ballesteros, Ernie Els, Sergio García and Dustin Johnson, who have also won The Northern Trust twice.
Fijian star Vijay Singh is the most decorated player in the history of the tournament having won a record four championships. 
Justin Thomas in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Reed will face still competition from Tiger Woods, Rory McIlroy, Webb Simpson, Bryson DeChambeau, Adam Scott, Phil Mickelson, Rickie Fowler, and Charley Hoffman.
Justin Thomas collected his first Playoffs win at TPC Boston in 2017 on his way to his 2017 FedExCup victory at the season-ending tour Championship.
The American star is looking forward to playing at the TPC Boston once again as he looks to clinch his maiden The Northern Trust title. 

You might enjoy: Rising golf stars to keep an eye on
"I am excited. Anytime you go to that place you have won it is a good feeling," the 2017 PGA Championship winner said. 
"You obviously have good vibes. I love that area. The course is fun. It's a place where you can make some birdies."
The 2020 The Northern Trust offers a $9.5 million purse with a winner's share of $1.71 million.

Last five The Northern Trust winners

2015 - Jason Day - Australia 
2016 - Patrick Reed - USA
2017 - Dustin Johnson - USA 
2018 - Bryson DeChambeau - USA
2019 - Patrick Reed - USA

Join Betway now & enjoy betting on 100’s of markets with the most competitive odds on offer

Join Betway now & enjoy betting on 100’s of markets with the most competitive odds on offer.

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App


Published: 08/19/2020