Poston looks to retain Wyndham Championship

Image copyright: Getty Images

2020 Wyndham Championship 

US PGA Tour 

Sedgefield Country Club
Greensboro, North Carolina, USA 
13-16 August 2020
The 2020 Wyndham Championship will be hosted by the Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, North Carolina, USA between 13 and 16 August.
The tournament was founded in 1938 and it is the sixth-oldest event on the PGA Tour excluding the Majors.
It enjoys a rich 80-year history that includes such former winners as Sam Snead, Byron Nelson, Ben Hogan, Gary Player and Seve Ballesteros. 
American golfer James Tyree (JT) Poston is the defending champion having won the Wyndham Championship title in the last year.
Webb Simpson in action.
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Poston earned his first professional victory by winning the tournament after shooting an 8-under 62 in the final round and going bogey-free in the competition. 
The 27-year-old also became the first player since 1974 to win a PGA Tour event while going bogey-free.

You might enjoy: Rising golf stars to keep an eye on
Poston will be looking to become the first player to defend the Wyndham Championship since golf legend Snead in 1956 
Snead, who passed away in 2002, is also the most decorated player in the history of the tournament having won a record eight championships. 
Patrick Reed in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Poston will face stiff competition from Webb Simpson, Brooks Koepka and Tommy Fleetwood, while Tiger Woods is not playing this week.
American golfer Patrick Reed, who won this tournament in 2013, is set to participate in this year's competition. 
“It’s always fun for us to welcome our past champions back to the Wyndham, and this year, we have nine of them in the field,” tournament director Mark Brazil said. 
“Since he won here in 2013, Patrick has been one of the best American players in the world.
" I know he loves the golf course at Sedgefield, and I won’t be surprised if has a good tournament next week.”
The 2020 Wyndham Championship offers a $6.4 million purse with a winner's share of $1.152 million.

Last five Wyndham Championship winners

2015 - David Love III - USA 
2016 - Kim Si-woo - South Korea 
2017 - Henrik Stenson - Sweden 
2018 - Brandt Snedeker - USA
2019 - JT Poston - USA

Join Betway now & enjoy betting on 100’s of markets with the most competitive odds on offer

Join Betway now & enjoy betting on 100’s of markets with the most competitive odds on offer.

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App


Published: 08/12/2020