Duncan out to defend RSM Classic title

Image copyright: Getty Images

2020 RSM Classic 

US PGA Tour 

Sea Island Golf Club 
St. Simons, Georgia, USA
19-22 November 2020  
Tyler Duncan will be looking to retain his RSM Classic title when he competes at the Sea Island Golf Club.
The American player, who recently competed at the 2020 Masters' Tournament, is currently ranked 143rd in the world. 
Duncan made his professional debut in 2014 when he played on the PGA Tour Latinoamérica where his best finish was T-6 at the Lexus Panama Classic.
The 31-year-old finished T-11 in the Web.com Tour Finals in 2017 to earn his PGA Tour card for the 2017–18 season. 
Webb Simpson in action.
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Duncan got his big breakthrough last year when he won the RSM Classic in a playoff over his compatriot Webb Simpson. 
It was Columbus-born golfer's maiden victory in the PGA Tour and he has since participated in the Masters' Tournament, US Open and PGA Championship in 2020. 
It was also Duncan's first win in a multiple-day event since the 2011 Indiana Amateur and he is now determined to defend his RSM Classic title. 
His uncle, Andrew Johnson, is his swing coach and Johnson won the 2005 Cleveland Open on the Nationwide Tour.
Andrew Johnson in action
 Image copyright: Getty Images

Duncan explained how winning the RSM Classic trophy has affected his career as he did not win while playing college golf at Purdue.

You might enjoy: Rising golf stars to keep an eye on
"As far as a four-day tournament, I would say that's probably correct," Duncan said. 
"I never won on the Latin American Tour, never won on the Web.com, Korn Ferry Tour, and I hadn't won out here until then. I had won a few mini-tour events, but nothing with the PGA Tour.
"I haven't won a whole lot as you guys know," he added. "I won the state amateur championship in 2011, I won the high school championship. I didn't win anything in college, I don't think," he added.
"Haven't won on any of the developmental tours. There's not a whole lot there as far as winning, but I've had a lot of different moments that have helped prepare me for this moment and it just hadn't happened yet."

Last five RSM Classic winners

2015 - Kevin Kisner - USA 
2016 - Mackenzie Hughes - Canada 
2017 - Austin Cook - USA 
2018 - Charles Howell III - USA
2019 - Tyler Duncan - USA 

Join Betway now & enjoy betting on 100’s of markets with the most competitive odds on offer

Join Betway now & enjoy betting on 100’s of markets with the most competitive odds on offer.

For all the latest sports news, betting tips and promotions follow Betway on FacebookTwitterInstagram and YouTubeDownload the Betway App.


Published: 11/18/2020